Salad Days At The Natural Gardener

With multitasking on the brain, I grabbed my new camera on the way out the door for a quick trip to The Natural Gardener. Having never owned a DSLR before, the learning curve, my friends, is steep. I figured that there’d be something worth photographing in one of the many display gardens and I could put my camera through its paces and experiment with the various settings.

Right away, the winter vegetable garden caught my attention. The sheer variety of colors, textures, and shapes of lettuces, cabbages, chard, and bok choy in the demonstration beds is stunning, especially when backlit. Winter greens can really give flowers a run for their money in the looks department. Here’s my evidence:

salad greens - The Natural Gardener
bok choy and yucca - The Natural Gardener winter greens - The Natural Gardener winter cabbage - The Natural Gardener lettuce and yucca - The Natural Gardener

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next on my list is figuring out this white balance thing before all of the narcissus tazetta are done blooming. And I’d also like to give a shoutout to Marc of Garden Austin and Vicki of Playin’ Outside for all of their camera help! I am crazy excited to finally be learning how to take some really awesome pictures!

About The Gardener of Good & Evil

@good_n_evil
This entry was posted in vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Salad Days At The Natural Gardener

  1. xericstyle says:

    Nice shots!!!! Looks like you are enjoying your new camera, eh? I agree those veggies are gorgeous 🙂

  2. Pam/Digging says:

    Congrats on your new camera! You’re gonna have so much fun with it!

  3. Jenny says:

    What fun to have a new camera and what a great place to go try it out. Soon you’ll be entering the ‘picture this’ competition. Love Robin’s testimonial to your landscaping skills.

  4. I love the photo top right. With your artist’s eye you’ll have this down in no time. It’s always fun to try new settings, some work, others not so much but then you know.

    • Thank you for your vote of confidence, Shirley! I’ve taken sooooo many pictures lately and have only posted the very best ones. I have a ton to learn before I feel confident that I will be able to take the kinds of landscape pictures I want!

Leave a Reply

