The old rose border is no more.

Now that I’ve run out of space for plants, my goal in life is to reduce maintenance. So in line with the whole “gardener of good and evil” theme, any plant I’m not happy with gets the axe. In this case, I’ve long been unhappy with the rose border, which really only sparkled in the spring after a winter of full sun, and so, one by one, the roses began to disappear. Last summer was a purgatory where I made one last-ditch attempt to grow tomatoes where Belinda’s Dream, Maggie, and Souvenir de la Malmaison once lived. Once again, I failed to produce a decent tomato. So this is my newest experiment. Sculptural form, evergreen interest, cold and heat hardiness, and very little watering required:

ImageImageImageImageImage

Plant list, using the second picture from the top, going from left to right: agave ovatifolia, yucca filamentosa ‘Golden Sword’, yucca gloriosa variegata, and agave quadricolor.

About The Gardener of Good & Evil

@good_n_evil
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The old rose border is no more.

  1. Laura says:

    Looks great. I love the different heights in the bed. I need to incorporate this more.

  2. I love the agave/wildflower containers in the mix! Need to track down some stock tank containers for my yard…

Comments are closed.