Mexican Feathergrass

Despite its tendency to reseed rampantly between the pavers of my walkways and nowhere else, I love Mexican Feathergrass (Nasella tenuissima / stipa tenuisima). When it’s at its peak, like it is now, it can’t be beat for adding movement to the garden, and I am a sucker for movement in the garden. Watching the feathergrass in the breeze is just as relaxing to me as a water feature. Here’s what had me mesmirized earlier this evening:

And once the sun came out:

Ahhhhh…I will have to remember this when I’m weeding in a few months!

About The Gardener of Good & Evil

@good_n_evil
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mexican Feathergrass

  1. xericstyle says:

    How do you care for your feather grass? Do you ever cut it back? It is so big and so beautiful!

    • I never cut them back. I don’t think it’s necessary with feathergrass, and I don’t like how the stump looks. I’ve found that the really important thing is getting any dead grass cleared out of the center of the clump so it doesn’t start to rot, and the easiest method for me is to just put on some gloves and “comb” the clumps of feathergrass whenever they start looking ratty. Other than that, this is a plant that seems to prefer a hands-off approach from me.

      • xericstyle says:

        So good to know! Thank you πŸ™‚ I cut my gulf muhly back to the ground – needed to on some (I think) and not on others. I am kind of regretting it. What is your treatment of gulf muhly? Thank you in advance:)
        Oh and this week I have a little medical thing tues – if all goes well and I feel up to it, I would LOVE to come friday! I will keep ya posted. Can you please e-mail me info at
        acadianbozoatsbcglobaldotnet

        Thank you soooooooooooooooooooo much! I really appreciate the invitation πŸ™‚

  2. Scott Weber says:

    I totally agree, there is nothing quite a serene as watching the grass undulating in the wind! Have you ever tried Muhlenbergia rigens…divinity on a breezy day πŸ™‚

  3. wabisabiholt says:

    Lori,

    Just saw your garden over on Digging…. WOW. WOW! Oh my gosh, it’s really just amazing.

    I really love the look of MFG when it’s big like this. How long did it take for yours to reach this size?

Comments are closed.