Inside Austin Gardens Tour: the Donnis Doyle Garden

The Inside Austin Gardens tour is this Saturday, October 20 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. I was treated to a pre-tour with a bunch of other bloggers, who have been much more prompt getting their posts up (errr, hi, guys!). Find out more about the tour, including talks that will be given at each garden, here: http://www.tcmastergardeners.org/what/gardentour.html

My favorite garden was also the garden where my camera took one look and decided to die, leaving me with my trusty old iPhone 3 to cover the rest of the tour. I really can’t blame it. Donnis Doyle’s garden was just that fantastic for me. From the street, you see a purple-burgundy loropetalum hedge in the shade of some large trees, including one lovely oak we were idly trying to identify. Once you step up to the front path, this is the sight that greets you: shady, evergreen, fragrant, lots of contrast, and a lovely soothing decomposed granite space to rest the eyes. Talk about high impact and low maintenance! Also a great spot for a hammock, just sayin’.

This is also one of the very few gardens I’ve been to that has exactly the right amount of garden art. Not only that, it was all unique to me. I like whimsy in the garden, but for me it’s a fine line. I thought she completely nailed it. Also, speaking as a person who has literally constructed a flower moat around her house, I really love the creative solutions for privacy that are used on this property. The walk along the front of the house is screened from view by trellises with evergreen jasmine growing on them, a great solution for a narrow space where shrubs would take up too much room. I didn’t even notice them at first, they were so well-integrated into the landscape. Anyway, take a look:

 

About The Gardener of Good & Evil

@good_n_evil
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inside Austin Gardens Tour: the Donnis Doyle Garden

  1. xericstyle says:

    AGAIN! Love your perspective. I have seen a few posts now from Austin bloggers and LOVE all of them of course…I just appreciate seeing this garden from 3 very different perspectives – so cool! And cheers to garden bloggers!

Leave a Reply

