Not bad for July!

So I was cutting the lawn for the second time in two weeks, thanks to the unexpected and utterly fantastic rain, and realized that it’s been ages since I’ve taken pictures of the garden and things have really changed around here! The front flower moat is finally reaching the glorious stage of billowy, fragrant, low-water, viciously thorny, and colorful screening that I’d originally designed it to be. I now have near-complete privacy for my favorite hangout spot on my front porch. Good times.

I’ve gotta warn you guys that the front yard between the moat and the porch is a mess. Before we got rain, every tree in my yard was starting to drop leaves and fruit, and the rain washed it all onto the walk. I haven’t spent any time out there at all this week to clean up, aside from mowing, but at least the pictures give an idea of how much everything has filled in. As for the grasses growing between the pavers, that’s all being saved to be moved to two new beds in the backyard once the weather cools down in the fall (you can see the construction mess in that last wide photo of the back). It’s gonna be awesome. (I just spent the last two days sweating my ass off installing 65 feet of edging while the ground was still wet, so it’d freakin’ better be awesome.)

It’s pretty crazy to remember what this place looked like when I bought it back in 2006. One of these days, I need to do a before-and-after post.

Since it’s late and I no longer remember how to use WordPress and am perpetually cursed with wonky formatting issues, I am just gonna dump my photos here. TGIF!

About The Gardener of Good & Evil

@good_n_evil
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not bad for July!

  1. Jenny says:

    Nice to see photos of your garden again. I love the photos of the front pathway with yuccas and feather grasses bending over the path. You know how much I love gravel growers. Hope you took time to sit in the hammock after you have mowed?

  2. Robin says:

    Cool! I’m trying to figure out where the new beds are in the backyard….perhaps I should come over and see them in person!

  3. It looks fabulous — lush and full and flowing. Your hard work on it really shows. You must be so proud.

  4. Looking beautiful, Lori. I’d love to see before and after pics one day. Was it just grass before?

  5. xericstyle says:

    Hi there, I just found your blog – your garden is just gorgeous! I am following you now, can’t wait to see more. I am a colder climate transplant to central Texas too – I feel your pain. 🙂 Cheers!

  6. Flower Pot says:

    I love how it all looks…nice.

  7. Aidan Healy says:

    Wow, you’ve really maximized your space. It looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

